31.05.2017

Scarlett Grant, MEAA Communications and Events Volunteer, shares her experience of assisting at the launch of MEAA Founder Brian McElney’s autobiography, ‘Collecting China: The Memoirs of a Hong Kong Art Addict’.

book launch blog4
The launch took place at BRLSI in Bath on Saturday 27th May 2017

“I really enjoyed volunteering at the book launch, and this was my first time volunteering for an event with the MEAA. The only previous book event I had worked at was working at Waterstones bookshop for the Jacqueline Wilson talk at the Bath Children’s Literature Festival. Needless to say this was far less hectic.”

It was great to hear about the history behind the museum directly from the founder. – Scarlett

 

“It was great meeting some of the other volunteers and associates of the museum. Everyone was incredibly friendly and welcoming, it really did feel like I had been a part of the museum for years as opposed to a few weeks.

 

Collecting China Book Launch 3
Brian McElney signing books for a visitor with Cindy, MEAA Volunteer

I think also this event was great for my knowledge about the museum. And was great to hear about the history behind the museum directly from the founder. In all honestly I had a great time – in spite of the fact I was ‘working’.” –  Scarlett Grant

‘Collecting China’ is available to purchase from the MEAA Shop. Pop in or call us for details (+44)1225 464640.
